Exceptional Education at the Heart of the Community

Academy Council

The Academy Council plays a vital role in the life of Oasis Academy Byron. It is comprised of members of the local community, the local authority, parent representatives, a member of the support staff and a member of the teaching staff. Meeting 6 times in the evening throughout the academic year, the Academy Council acts as ‘critical friends’ on issues of attainment and performance, whilst also being very involved in ensuring the development of a thriving and holistic community Hub.

The Academy Council does not have the statutory responsibilities of the Academy, these are held at national level by the OCL Board. All Academy Councillors are appointed by the Oasis Community Learning National Executive.

Oasis Academy Councils are made up of between 7 – 15 people. This list is updated every six months or annually. All Academy Councillors are appointed for a 3 year term of office unless stated otherwise.

Contact us to find out more about volunteering as an Academy Councillor and make the difference to your community today! 

Academy Council


Appointed By/Category

Role on AC

Date Appointed

End Date

Business/Pecuniary Interests including governance
roles in other educational institutions, or any
interests arising from relationships between academy councillors and academy staff

Attendance for Academic Year '18/19

Clare Wingrave   Principal    

LA Secondary

Oasis Primary AC

Jason Perry  LA Chair 01/09/2015 31/08/2018 None 1/1
Andy Davies Community   01/09/2016 31/08/2019 None 1/1
Margaret Bird  LA



01/09/2015 31/08/2019 LA Primary School 1/1
Ali Low  Parent 

Health and Safety


01/06/2016 31/05/2019 None 1/1
Maragaret Finnegan Non Teaching Staff Science and ICT 01/09/2016 31/08/2019 None 0/1
Nickie Cotter Parent SEND Marketing 01/06/2016 31/05/2019 None  0/1
Sarah Small Teaching Staff Deputy Principal 01/06/2017 31/05/2010 None 1/1