Exceptional Education at the Heart of the Community

Early Years

The EYFS curriculum meets the requirements set out in the revised National Curriculum at Foundation Stage and the guidance produced in 2013. Curriculum planning focuses on the Early Learning Goals, as set out in these documents, and on developing children’s skills and experiences. In Reception, children learn synthetic phonics using Success For All (SFA) phonics and their reading using the SFA Kinder roots reading programme. The International Primary Curriculum forms the basis of topic planning that runs alongside and complements the revised National Curriculum. Reception children have one formal ICT lesson per week.

There are four principles which underpin our Early Years and Foundation Stage Curriculum:

  • A unique child – every child is a competent learner from birth who can be resilient, capable, confident and self-assured.
  • Positive relationships so that children feel safe and cared for.
  • Enabling environment – we provide a rich and varied environment which supports children’s learning and development. It gives them the confidence to explore and learn in secure and safe yet challenging, indoor and outdoor space.
  • Learning and developing – children develop and learn in different ways and at different rates. In their play, children at their highest levels. We provide wide ranging and varied interests that engage and involve children for sustained periods.

The curriculum is divided into seven areas of learning and development. These are the three prime areas:

  • Personal, social and emotional development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical development

There are four specific areas:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive Art and Design

These valuable experiences give our children a secure foundation in learning which supports their future school career